2017 Essay Collection Competition

Judge: renee gladman

* closed *


The Cleveland State University Poetry Center welcomes submissions for our Essay Collection Competition; the winner will receive $1,000, publication, and a standard royalty contract. This year’s contest will be judged Renee by Gladman.

Renee Gladman is a writer and artist preoccupied with lines, thresholds, geographies, and syntaxes as they play out across the fields of poetry, fiction, and essay. She is the author of nine works of prose, including the Ravicka novels Event Factory (2010), The Ravickians (2011), and Ana Patova Crosses a Bridge (2013) as well as Calamities (2016), a collection of essays published by Wave Books. Recent writings and drawings have appeared in The Paris Review, Harper's Magazine, Stonecutter, and Best American Experimental Writing. A longtime publisher and bookmaker, her projects include Clamour (1996-1999), Leroy Chapbook series (1999-2003), and Leon Works (since 2005). She is the recipient of a 2014-2015 fellowship from The Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University and a 2016 grant to artists from Foundation for Contemporary Arts.



1. All essay collections are welcome, regardless of author’s previous publications; manuscripts should be approximately 100-300 pages in length. Translations are not eligible.

2. Intimate friends, relatives, or current and former students of Renee Gladman are not eligible to submit. Faculty, staff, students, and alumni of Cleveland State University or the Northeast Ohio MFA Program (NEOMFA) are not eligible to submit their work.

Guidelines & Notes

1. Make sure to record/update your most current information (name, manuscript title, address, phone number, and email address) in your Submittable account; this is the information we will use to contact you. No other cover page or biographical information should be included in your submission and your name should not appear elsewhere in the manuscript. You may include an acknowledgments page that lists previously published essays.

2. Multiple submissions are welcome and simultaneous submissions are acceptable (please inform us if the manuscript is accepted elsewhere).

3. The CSU Poetry Center reserves the right to consider all entrants for publication; a list of winners and finalists will be posted on the Poetry Center website in late summer/early fall of 2017.

To Submit

1. Upload your manuscript as a .docx or .pdf to Submittable (mail submissions are no longer eligible).

2. There is a $28 reading fee, which must be paid through Submittable. This year, as a token of our appreciation for your readership and support of innovative literary publishing we will mail each writer a book from our 2017 spring catalog (which will include these titles). Books will ship in April; please make sure that the address listed in your Submittable account is up to date.

3. Please email poetrycenter@csuohio.edu with any further questions.